Skip to Main Content


New York, US
3:36 am, June 9, 2023
temperature icon 60°F
L: 54° H: 63°
Feels like 58.23 °F scattered clouds
Wind gusts: 4 m/s
UV Index: 0
Precipitation: 0 inch
Visibility: 10 km
Sunrise: 5:24 am
Sunset: 8:25 pm
Humidity 64 %
Pressure1007 mb
Wind 4 m/s

Elected Officials

Board of Trustees Meeting is held monthly, on the third Wednesday of the month at the village hall at 8:00 p.m., but no meeting in August

Deputy Mayor

Jeffrey Greener


Brent Greenspan


Carey Ye


Phil Bornstein

Election District

Kensington is part of the Town of North Hempstead in the 17th Election District. Village Election Day is held annually, on the third Tuesday in March at the village hall from noon to 9:00 p.m.

Village Court

(516) 482-4409 ext. 103

The Village Justice is elected to a four-year term of office and presides at the village justice court in sessions held each month at the village hall. The village court has jurisdiction over violations of village code and violations of motor vehicle laws that occur within the village.

Village Court is held once a month on a Monday evening.  The doors will open at 5:30pm.  The judge  will take the bench at 7pm.  Each defendant will have the opportunity to have a conference with the prosecutor prior to the judge taking the bench on a first come first serve basis.

  • Village Justice: Richard S. Kestenbaum
  • Acting Village Justice: Jill Monoson
  • Prosecuting Attorney: Adam Covitt
  • Court Clerk: Dawn Ward
  • Village Attorney: Andrea Tsoukalas-Curto

Village Boards

Village Boards consist of a Zoning Board of Appeals, Architectural Review Board and Board of Assessors.

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals is composed of a chairperson and four other members, appointed to five year terms of office, who hear requests for variances from the village zoning code.

  • Bill Graham – Chairman
  • Andrew Bloom
  • David Lester
  • Alvina Lo
  • Miriam Kobliner
  • Mitchell Kase – Alternate

Architectural Review Board

The Architectural Review Board was created to preserve and promote the character and appearance of the community.

It consists of a Chairperson and four other residents of the village appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Board of Trustees. All members of the Board are deemed specially qualified by reason of training, experience, or civic interest and by reason of sound judgment to judge the effects of a proposed building or exterior alteration on the nature and character of the community and of the immediate neighborhood.

  • Andrea Dennett – Chairperson
  • Joyce Cheung – Co-Chairperson
  • Matt Jagoda – Member
  • Alina Hendler- Member
  • Flori Silverstein – Member
  • Kenneth Eskildsen – Member
  • Nancy Sweder – Alternate

Board of Assessors

The Board of Assessors professionally creates a yearly tax listing in accordance with the Nassau County Assessment Roll.

  • Susan Lopatkin – Chairperson
  • Jeffrey Greener
  • Phil Bornstein
  • Carey Ye
  • Brent Greenspan

Village Staff

The Village office in the Village Hall at 2 Nassau Drive, Great Neck NY 11021 is open from Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 pm.

Office Phone: (516) 482-4409

Village Clerk/Treasurer

Melissa R. McComb
(516) 482-4409 x101

Supervisor, Department of Public Works

Brian Morris
(516) 482-4409 x240

Office Fax: (516) 482-2866

Deputy Village Clerk

Anna Nardiello
(516) 482-4409 x100

Court Clerk

Dawn Ward
(516) 482-4409 x103
Back To Top